Alpha Leadership 2014

Alpha Leadership is a program at CMU open to anyone who wants to improve and learn more about their leadership skills, as well as learn the different kinds of leadership styles. We met every Thursday from 6-8 pm for 5 weeks throughout October and every week,usa alpha there was a different dress theme (which made it super fun.)              (This week’s theme was USA) There were about 5 or 6 different groups made up of around 10 participants and two facilitators to lead the groups throughout the various activities. We did various icebreakers, but we also did activities that I had never done. The group I was in was the “yellow” team, but we took it upon ourselves to rename the group “Gucci Gold Bananas.” My group clicked instantly and we all made sure everyone had a great experience. I really wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about it, because, just like during Safari, I didn’t know if I would enjoy myself since I really didn’t know what exactly to expect or who to expect.ggb alpha

I did end up having a great time though and a lot of that is really because my group was so fantastic. The facilitators led us through every exercise well, but we still had a blast doing it, making jokes and really getting to know one another. One of the nights, we took a leadership style quiz, and I found out what leadership style I was and that is very helpful to know, so you can see how to improve and what your strengths/weaknesses are more.

For the fall of 2015, I want to apply to become an Alpha Leadership Facilitator because I want to not only go through the entire experience again, but I want to make the experience as good, or even better than mine was. It’s a great program and I would sincerely recommend it to any one at Central. Its not just another leadership thing we were required to do, it was a whole experience of growth as a person as well as a leader and I am so glad that I was a part of Alpha.

Leave a Reply

