Mystery Blog

This week, all we got for our big mystery blog prompt was: “Does leadership come from a ‘yes’ or ‘no’?” As you can see, there’s not much here to go off of, it’s all up to the imagination. I wasn’t quite sure what to think of this question at first… my initial thought was actually, “what the hell?” After some thought, (but not much more confidence) I think I have a decent answer.

Leadership comes from neither a ‘yes’ nor a ‘no’. Or, perhaps leadership comes from both a ‘yes’ and a ‘no’. (I really just hate picking sides, Team Switzerland all the way.) Since team_switzerland_by_mylescarlyleleadership really is so situational and there are so many variables involved, I really don’t think it would be fair to conclude that leadership simply comes from yes or no. There really is no straight, correct answer when it comes to leading, especially when everyone does it differently. When we lead ethically and morally, we could tie that in with my second idea which is that leadership comes from both yes and no. If I am in a tough situation where I have to preform ethical leadership by making decisions based on my own beliefs and morals, this would be a case where there is more of a straight up answer, thus coming from a yes and/or no.

I think/hope my answer encompasses what exactly the question was asking, since it was so open-ended, but at the same time, I really don’t think there was a right or wrong answer for this. Leadership is so broad and really quite hard to define and explain when considering every different aspect and point of view. There are few instances when leadership is strictly a ‘yes’ or ‘no’ situation. With that, the openness and plentiful opportunity that come with leadership is something really exciting that, (in my opinion) keeps people all the more interested and invested with learning more about it. It is definitely why I love leadership!

Leave a Reply

