#LeadChat

For our Leadership 200L course, we participated in a Lead Chat on twitter that discussed our thoughts on being a mentor/having a mentee.

Q1: What qualities do you look for in a mentor? #LeadChat

A mentor should be someone who is uplifting and who inspires you/pushes you to be the best person you can be. In addition to that, I feel that a mentor should also be a friend and someone that you can casually talk to or hangout with. Really a mentor can be anyone and have a multitude of different qualities, but I feel that most importantly, they need to be someone you can look up to and who can push you to be better.

Q2: What are your expectations of your mentee? #LeadChat

I don’t necessarily have high expectations for my mentee. I would be happy with any mentee, because I would try to be the best mentor to them no matter what.  I do hope that my mentee has goals that I can help them accomplish, and I really hope that they like coffee so we can go get coffee together. But, all in all, it doesn’t matter who my mentee is.

Q3: What is the difference between a mentor and a role model? #LeadChat

I feel like mentors and role models are one in the same. One of the main differences might be that role models are someone you look up to, but they may be famous or dead, but mentors are also someone you look up to, but you can still have a relationship with them. Mentors also help a long the way with different issues that life brings, but role models can’t necessarily do that.
Q4: What communication tools work best with a mentor/mentee relationship? #LeadChat

For my mentor/mentee relationship, I feel that social media plays a big role in communication thus far. Whenever my mentor and I talk, it’s always via texting, and I’m sure it will be like that with my mentee, too, at least in the beginning.
Q5: Who do you look to as a mentor? How have they had an impact on you? #LeadChat

My brother is honestly one of my biggest mentors. He helps me so much with any issues I have and he is almost always available for me to talk to him. I definitely look up to him because he has become very successful in his time at CMU and is very independent and self confident. I really hope to become as confident as he is someday, and as good as a mentor. I’m not even sure he would consider himself a mentor to me, but I definitely look up to him, and he always pushes me to do better.

My brother and me

Leave a Reply

