Year in Review

In the beginning of the year, I was definitely shy and I feel like I missed out on many opportunities because of that. But, starting second semester, I have come out of my shell and have grown as a person, and a leader.

Looking back at the post I made about my new year resolutions in January, I said that I wanted to become less of a hermit and take every opportunity that came my way, and I feel that I have done just that. I still have the need to get more involved, and hold a leadership position on campus, but compared to where I was only a few months ago, I have made definite progress toward my goal.

In that post, I also said that I needed to surround myself with more positive people who could help me become more involved, and just a better person in general. I said that in order to do this, I need to gain the self confidence in order to put myself out there to meet new people. Over this past semester, I really did gain a lot of confidence. I remember the one night in January that I told myself I was going to go downstairs, go into someones room, and start talking, and hopefully become better friends. I was so nervous, but because I jumped out of my comfort zone that night, I made friends that I still have today. I’m so thankful that I made that leap that one night in January because I got what I needed: positive people to help me sucseed. Since then, I have gotten to know a lot more people and jumped out of my comfort zone even further.

In January, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to share in 2015, and to be honest, I’m really still not sure. But, I did say that I wanted to give off positive and welcoming vibes since I knew how good it felt when other people welcomed me. I really have made an effort to always do that, and compliment people or ask how their day is going. I guess a new goal I have though, would be to give my time as much as possible. After going on our LAS service trip to Detroit, I realized just how important it is to volunteer and be a servant leader. I plan to volunteer a lot of my time over the summer at my church, St. John’s Episcopal Church, and around my own community.

I stated that my ultimate goal for 2015 was simply to have a positive attitude and become a better me. I feel like I have accomplished that thus far in the year. I believe that having a good attitude and outlook is the most important part of accomplishing anything.

I incorporated my favorite quote in my January post, and it is still relevant today (and will be forever): drseussyouhavebrainsinyourhead

I still use this quote to motivate myself, and I think of it whenever I want to accomplish anything. I am the one in charge of my own life, so I can dictate the outcome.

Leave a Reply

