Campus Grow

Campus Grow is Mount Pleasant and CMU’s own community garden open to the public. I am a newer member to the organization, but have loved the time I’ve been involved. Campus Grow is a heavy summer RSO, since our Michigan winters don’t allow us to garden outside in the cold months. Since I work for the CMU Greenhouses and Fabiano Botanical Garden, I became involved with the RSO this school year. I have discovered recently that I really enjoy gardening and being with plants in general. Being in this RSO not only allows me to garden, but it also allows me to showcase some of my leadership and coordinating skills. This summer, I will be the Summer Garden Coordinator. With this position, I will plan different gardening events, organize the plots and plot rentals, and handle the business and financial aspects that go along with the organization. I have never managed anything to this large of a scale before–Campus Grow has over 60 plots available to plot renters.

I am excited to be able to showcase the leadership skills that I have learned throughout the years, as well as educate people on the benefits of having a plot and eating food that your grew yourself. While I haven’t had much experience in this position with this RSO before, I am excited to see what the summer will bring. I am eager to create a bigger community of local gardeners and farmers.

…more to come this summer!

Leave a Reply

